Black Bottom Cupcakes & NYE 2k13

Happy New Years!

Image

A new year, a new beginning… an excuse to throw a party! There is no better way to ring in the New Year than to throw a party in your own apartment. You might be surprised to hear that this is actually the first party I have thrown at my Brooklyn Digs… and I can confidently tell you it won’t be the last.

Reasons why throwing your own New Years party is awesome:

  1. … You don’t have to go anywhere and could, in theory, wear your slippers the whole time. [don’t worry…. I didn’t]
  2. You get to go to Party City. Seriously unrated.
  3. You get to plan a menu, which means you get to take an extra trip to the grocery store. Double score.
  4. You get to keep all the fun things that are left behind! I scored a new grey sweater (sorry if it is yours and you’re reading this), an earring, a large jar of pickles, Worcestershire sauce, hot sauce, and some paper straws!

Needless to the say the night went off without a hitch. No one got burnt on the scorching hot pole that runs through the middle of my living room, we all made it to the fireworks by 11:57 p.m., and my neighbors only had to bang on the ceiling once!

I went for ‘Everyday Martha’ meets ‘Sandra Lee’ meets ‘Bobby Flay Outdoor Barbeque’ causal – ‘idon’twanttoseemlikeitriedeventhoughiactuallydid’ – cool. I think it worked. In addition to my contributions, my wonderful friends brought of a mix of deliciousness Turkey Burger Sliders, Mac n’ Cheese Balls, Kebabs, Blondie’s, and Fruit Skewers that fit the theme perfectly.

Image

Except for the spicy caramel popcorn, I think I did something you never supposed to do when throwing a party and I made a whole menu of things I had never tried before. And if 2013 is any reflection of how my dishes turned out… it’s going to be a GREAT year! Portobello sliders, Spinach Balls, Zucchini Roll-Ups, and Black-Bottom Cupcakes…. #winning.

Black bottom cupcakes first made their appearance in the Kagan family circa summer 2002, when my little brother got bit by a dog and my cousin nursed him back to health. For a short while after, they became the default treat to mail or bring to a party. I haven’t thought much about them since them, but they came to me in a vision as the perfect dessert for New Years Eve. Something about the black and white color combination gives them a fancy, elegant look … I am actually thinking about renaming them Tuxedo Cupcakes. (Penguin bites?)

These little cupcake bites pack a bit flavor for their petite size. They are a cross between chocolate cheesecake and self-frosting chocolate cake with cream cheese frosting. The chocolate cake part is really light but has a good chocolate flavor, and the mini chocolate chips in the cream cheese batter help to tie the flavors together. The recipe calls for a mini cupcake pan, which is great because you get to use a specialty pan (!) and you also get a LOT of cupcakes out of a recipe. But if mini and many isn’t your style, you can definitely go for a regular muffin tin and just adjust your cooking time.

Image

The next time you want to impress your boss, smooth things over with your sweetie, or indulge in a little self-loving… I recommend wiping up a batch of these cupcakes. They are so small you don’t even have to feel bad about eating them two … or four … or six … at a time!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Black Bottom / Tuxedo Cupcakes

Makes 48 mini cupcakes

Cheesecake batter:

1 8-oz package cream cheese, softened

1 egg

1/3 c. sugar

1/8 t. salt

6 oz mini chocolate chips

Chocolate batter:

1 ½ c. flour

1 c. sugar

¼ c. unsweetened cocoa

1 tsp. baking soda

½ tsp. salt

1 c. water

1/3 c. oil

1 t. vinegar (or lemon juice)

1 t. vanilla

 

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour a mini muffin tin.

Mix cream cheese, egg, sugar, salt, and chocolate chips. Set aside.

Sift together flour, sugar, cocoa, soda and salt. Add water, oil, vinegar and vanilla.

Fill tins 1/3 full with chocolate batter. Top each with 1 tsp. cream cheese batter.

Bake for 15 minutes (be careful not over bake

 

p.s. – My new years resolution is to have 100 posts by my one year bloggiversary. That means a post every 3 or 4 days…. Do you think that also means that my New Years resolution is to indulge in a new dessert every 3 or 4 days? Because that’s a resolution I can definitely stick to.

Leave a Reply

