Chocolate Beet Cake

DON’T FREAK OUT. It’s not what you think.

I know after reading the title of this post, your curser was probably already migrating over the ‘back’ button, but hear me out. I won’t beet around the bush [had to]…

February has certain… standards. It’s the month of all things love, lust, red, and relationships. It’s the month where chocolates, roses, romantic gestures, fancy dinners, and heart-shaped anything shines.

So I figure if you can’t beet’em [oops… did it again], might as well join’em. What can I say? I’m a sucker for themes.

I had a very romantic idea of how this cake would turn out. I imagined people biting into a rich, dreamy chocolate cake and jaws dropping in surprise and admiration when I revealed the secret ingredient. I wanted to shock the masses, blow minds, change lives.

To their credit, the beets definitely did a lot for the texture and moisture of this cake, which was close to perfection. Instead of dense, heavy chocolate cake the beet puree made for a lighter, moist to the max, semi-sweet after dinner treat.

Image

My Poppop always said that beets make you beautiful, and if nothing else this cake was certainly beautiful. So why not take a bite of guilt free cake laced with ancient beauty secrets and a side of chocolate. Worse things have happened.

 

Chocolate Beet Cake

From A Pastry Affair

5 medium beets (about 2 c pureed beets)

1 c. butter

1 ½ c dark brown sugar

3 large eggs

1 t. vanilla extract

½ c cocoa powder

1 ½ c. flour

2 t. baking soda

1 t. cinnamon

Pinch of salt

 

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour two 9 – inch cake rounds.

To prepare your beets, trim off the stems and the ends. Submerge them in a sauce pot with water, bring to boil, reduce the heat and allow the beets to simmer for 45-50 minutes or until they are tender. Remove the beets from the water and remove skin. Once they have cooled slightly, process them in the food processor until they are nice and pureed.

Cream together the butter and the sugar. Add the eggs one at a time, and the vanilla. Add the beet puree.

In a separate bowl, combine your dry ingredients. Slowly add the dry ingredients to the beet mixture, stirring well after each addition.

[I didn’t do this, but looking back I think adding ½ c. finely shredded dark chocolate here would give this cake an amazing chocolate oomph]

Divide the batter evenly among the pans, and bake for 40-50 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

Allow the cake to cool completely before dusting with powdered sugar.

One thought on “Chocolate Beet Cake

  1. What a great combination. Thank you for sharing this with us during Our Little Family Adventure’s Community Party and helping me celebrate my birthday. I’ll be following all your posts from now on. I’m excited to see what comes out of your kitchen. I hope you’ll join us again this Friday for another Community Party http://www.facebook.com/ourlittlefamilyadventure

    Nicky

Leave a Reply

