Chia Seed Crackers

Crunchy is probably my favorite food word. There is nothing more satisfying than biting into a good, crunchy snack. I love everything about it – that first, declarative chomp, the chewing that echoes in your brain, the worn-out good feeling in your jaw.

Do I like salty, sweet, spicy, and moist? Of course! But I crave crunch. Nuts, crackers, biscotti, granola, pretzels… if it’s hard, dry and awkwardly loud to eat I’m probably into it.

Unfortunately, crunchy food doesn’t really do that much for you nutritionally. With the exception of nuts and carrots [which I consume by the bag… daily], most of my crunchy favorites are generally pretty void of substance. Sure I can mindlessly chomp my way through a bag of pretzels or box of cereal, but after a long run or a day on-the-go it doesn’t really get me very far.

Kind of like the time I made my own granola bars, I wanted to find a way to satisfy my crunch craving with something that I knew I could stand behind. No mystery ingredients, no false promises… just a crunchy little snack with a little more dietary oomph.

ImageAnd thus… Chia Seed Crackers were born! Chia seeds have been everywhere lately, including my mailbox! The wonderful people at Mila sent me a big ‘ol bag to work with and I must say that I’m smitten. They don’t call’em a superfood for nothing! Rich in Omega-3’s, potassium, fiber, and plant-based protein [the seed version of quinoa] there is a lot going on in this little seed. Sprouted, raw, baked, whole or ground… they keep you full, give you energy, support your digestion, and are unbelievably versatile.

So back to the crackers. This recipe is really just a template for well… any kind of cracker you could want. The mila seeds are ground to support easier absorption, but you can change up your seeds by using whole chias or hemp or flax or pepitas! You could also make these sweet crackers by trading out the tamari + garlic + onion + pepper for agave / honey + vanilla + cinnamon / nutmeg / all spice. I am thinking about next time omitting the quinoa and using cooked black beans!

Protein packed, omega rich, everything flavored gluten-free, nut-free, soy-free, fat-free little cracker that could.

 Image

Chia Seed Crackers

Makes approximately 3 dozen crackers

½ c. brown rice [dry]

½ c. [quinoa]

¼ c. chia seeds

¼ c. sesame seeds

¼ c. sunflower seeds

2-3 T. tamari

½ t. garlic salt

½ t. onion powder

¼ t. black pepper

 

Preheat the oven to 350. Spray your baking sheets with cooking spray.

Cook both the brown rice and quinoa as per the directions on the package.

When the brown rice cools, process it in a food processor until it turns into a sticky glob. Incorporate the quinoa + seeds [this will require some arm work]. Add the tamari and your seasonings – your dough will be very sticky [you can add a T more of tamari or water if you need to].

Pinch the dough into balls and drop on your cookie sheet, leaving a lot of room to flatten them out. Spray a piece of parchment paper with cooking spray and press it on top of each ball of dough using the palm of your hand, thus flattening your crackers. You want to get them as thin as possible [literally like paper thin] so they get nice and crunchy. If the dough starts to stick, just spray your parchment again.

Image

Bake at 350 but watch them carefully! Check them every 7-10 minutes until they are crispy [mine took about 30 minutes]. In the end I turned my oven off and left the crackers in there to dry out even more [again – be careful as they can definitely over crisp this way].

What’s that? You love them?

Image

Sorry… I couldn’t hear you over the crunch.

 

One thought on “Chia Seed Crackers

Leave a Reply

