Chocolate ‘Nutter Bites

Last night, I made the classic bakers mistake of trying a new recipe right before I actually needed to serve it. And it failed.

I was slated to go a potluck that started at 7 p.m., so around 5 o’clock I decided it was time to get in the kitchen and test out a new recipe for gingerbread mini donuts. I waited until the last minute because a. I wanted that ‘just baked, in your face fresh’ taste and b. It was the first beautiful day of spring and I basically couldn’t force myself to leave the park any earlier than that. [More the latter]. Despite my slightly late start all was going according to plan…. until I went to take the donuts out of the pan and every.single.one.was stuck. I was left with crumbs and a mess, so I quickly scraped the project and resigned myself to not bringing anything.

I tried to convince myself that I didn’t care about not bringing something — There would be plenty of food… at least I had tried… I could always buy wine! But as a foodie, blogger, and baker I look forward to potlucks the way high school girls look forward to prom. Showing up to a potluck empty handed would be like going to take a test without a pencil, or getting ready for the big game only to forget my jersey! This was my time to shine, and I was NOT going to let a few crumbs and laziness drag me down.

So, I quickly racked my brain to come up with something that met the following criteria:

  1. It had to be no bake – my wallowing had left me with little more than 20 minutes to throw something together from start to finish
  2. I had to have all the ingredients on hand – I was out of butter AND chocolate chips which are two pretty important kitchen staples
  3. No special equipment – most no bake cookies start by pulverizing dates in the food processor for a sticky base. Dates I have, a food processor I don’t.

So… what’s quick, sweet, and sticks together?

 Image

Chocolate ‘Nutter Bites

Easily assembled, easily adapted, and just plain tasty these last minute dessert bites were the perfect solution for my poor planning kitchen mishap! You can use any nut butter you have on hand, and incorporate any mix-ins you fancy!

Chocolate ‘Nutter Bites

adapted from How Sweet It Is

Makes about 20 mini bites

1 c. oats

¼ c. flax seed

2 T. chia seeds

2 T. cocoa powder

¼ c. salted sunflower seeds

¼ t. cinnamon

½ scant c. crunchy peanut butter

1/3 c. honey

½ t. vanilla

crushed nuts + cocoa powder for rolling [I used dry roasted + salted almonds]

Combine all your dry ingredients in a bowl. In a separate, shallow dish mix together your crushed nuts + cocoa powder [for rolling]

Melt your peanut butter [or whatever nut butter you’re using] on the stove until it is just barely liquidy. Allow the mixture to cool slightly, and then stir in the honey + vanilla.

Pour over the dry ingredients, and mix until everything is well incorporated and sticking together.

Using your hands, pinch a little bit of a batter at a time and roll into balls between your palms. Roll each ball in the nut + cocoa mixture to give it a nice crunchy coating.

Image

No need to refrigerate, freeze, or stress. Just grab you coat and hit the road!

One thought on “Chocolate ‘Nutter Bites

Leave a Reply

