Passover ‘Flourless’ Chocolate Cake

Passover is my favorite Jewish holiday. I’m one of those people who will occasionally eat matzah during the year just because I like it, and there’s nothing quite like the surge through your brain after a bite of particularly spicy horseradish. [Aunt Sue… you really out-did yourself this year.]

Spring semester of my junior year at school, I studied abroad in Kenya. As spring approached back in the states it wasn’t so much the pictures of St. Patrick’s Day celebrations or the Cherry Blossom Festival or even Free Cone Day at Ben and Jerry’s that had me missing home, but it was the lack of Passover preparations and talk of matzah pizza that I missed.

ImageBut I wasn’t going to the let the fact that we were staying with an ex black panther in the jungles of Tanzania stop me from spreading the Passover joy. With a little dose of creativity, I threw together a Sedar complete with a Sedar plate, a poetic telling of the Passover story, several boxes of Tanzania’s finest boxed wine, and puffed rice-cracker matzah.

 

Really the only that I don’t love about Passover is the dessert situation. Aside from the occasional macaroon and the matzah version of this chocolate bark, Passover desserts tend to be less than inspiring. They are always the slightly less appealing version of your favorite chocolate chip cookie, brownie, biscotti, or cake. So when my mom asked me to make dessert for Sedar this year, I wasn’t overly excited about it. Until this cake.

Image

This… the perfect, easiest, any time of year delicious chocolate cake. Fudgy, smooth, not too sweet, cuts like butter, a dark chocolate lovers heaven cake. When I say this cake is good, I don’t mean it’s K for P good… I mean it’s really good. The edges get a slightly crispy crust, and the just barely baked center gives this cake the perfect rich consistency.

Indulging in a slice of this cake is better than finding the Afikoman, and it beats out a Cadbury Egg [or peep] by a mile.

Passover or not, there is nothing about this cake I would change. [Except that I didn’t have more of it].

Image

‘Flourless’ Chocolate Cake [Dairy-free, Gluten-free]

makes one 9-inch round cake

10 oz. dark chocolate, chopped

1 stick margarine

¼ c. brewed espresso or coffee [I used decaf]

1/3 c. sugar

6 eggs

1 c. almond flour

Matzah meal for dusting the pan

 

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Spray your cake round with cooking spray, and line the bottom with parchment paper [trace the bottom of the pan, cut it out, and put it in]. Dust the sides with matzah meal.

Using a double boiler, melt the chocolate and margarine together. Remove from heat, and add coffee and sugar.

Add the eggs one at a time, mixing after each addition. Fold in the almond flour and stir until combine. Pour into your prepared pan.

Bake for 35 minutes. The sides should be firm, and the center should look set but soft.

Allow the cake to cool completely, then turn it out onto your serving platter.

I went for a powder sugar – doily look, but you can jazz it up with whatever flare you fancy.

 

Can I get an amen?

One thought on “Passover ‘Flourless’ Chocolate Cake

  1. Pingback: Classic Vanilla Cupcakes [Gluten + Dairy Free] | Sarah Sunshine

Leave a Reply

