World Peace Cookies [Vegan]

Well… it turns out that my muscle’s loss was my sweet tooth’s gain.

I am a self-identified runner, and I am suffering from my first [major] injury. It started as denial, as I ran though what I thought was the worst muscle cramp in history. It then moved to panic as the pain left me in tears trying to walk to work, which quickly turned to desperation as I left bruises on my body from trying to mash my muscle back into shape.

I have now moved on the acceptance. [sort of]

It’s been a rough week, and I needed something to fill the void. With running out of the question, I turned to my other coping mechanism of choice. Despite my hobbling, moaning, and groaning my [aching] legs led me to the mixing bowl. And while my original intention was to find a little inner peace, I ended up finding world peace… in a cookie.

Image

You could actually call this the accidental vegan version of tried and true classic. Every blogger or baker who writes about Dorie Greenspan’s ‘World Peace Cookies’ uses the exact same recipe, in exactly the same format, and they always turn out exactly the same. Rich chocolate flavor, soft dissolve in your mouth texture, perfect slice and bake medallions of chocolate-on- chocolate cookies.

These cookies are great for days when you can’t stand for long, or when you want something sweet but don’t want to spend a lot of time indoors. The dough comes together in under 20 minutes, which means you can get back to your tanning chair or heating pad in no time. They can stay in the fridge or freezer anywhere from 3 hours to 2 months, and from there you are only a mere 12 minutes away from World Peace.

If only it were that easy.

 

Image[Vegan] World Peace Cookies

Makes approximately 3 dozen

From Dorie Greenspan

1 ¼ c. all-purpose flour
1/3 c. unsweetened cocoa powder                                 ½ t. baking soda
11 T. margarine or vegan butter [1 stick + 3 T], at room temperature
2/3 c. packed brown sugar
¼ c sugar
¼ t. fine sea salt
1 t. vanilla extract
5 ounces bittersweet chocolate, chopped into chips, or a heaping ¾ c. non-dairy mini chocolate chips [in the kosher section of the grocery store]

Sift together the flour, cocoa, and baking soda.

Cream together the butter + sugar. Add the salt and vanilla extract.

On a low speed, add the flour mixture to the butter + sugar. Mix until just incorporated… you don’t want overwork the dough. It’s okay if your dough is still a little flaky, it will come together as you work your dough into logs. Mix in your chocolate pieces.

On a work surface, form 2 logs that are approximately 1.5 inches in diameter. Wrap in plastic wrap and allow the logs to sit in the freezer for 3 hours. [If you are making the dough more than 3 days in advance, stick it in the freezer].

When the dough has chilled, preheat your oven to 325 degrees and line your baking sheets with parchment paper.

Using a sharp knife cut the dough into ½ inch thick slices. Place about 1 inch apart on your prepared baking sheets [the dough doesn’t really spread at all] Bake for exactly 12 minutes. The cookies may not look done… but they are.

Sending out healing and peaceful vibes.

Leave a Reply

