Cold Green Soba Bowl with Miso Vinaigrette

This week, I happen to have a very green refrigerator. Maybe it’s the season or just some subconscious buying kick, but everything I have right now is some sort green vegetable… I’m a little worried I might turn into Shrek.

I found a package of soba noodles in the back corner of my pantry while I was cleaning this weekend. I think they were one of those things that I impulse bought and told myself I would experiment with more… and obviously never did. 

I like to play a game with myself where I take a mental inventory of my kitchen, and then plan menus and dishes while I’m running, or riding the subway.  I thought about this dish the whole way home.

ImageWith the arrival of summer, I’m on a ‘traditionally hot dish turned cold’ kick, and cold soba noodles are one of my favorites. It’s like an Asian version of an American classic… pasta salad for adventurous adults.

This soba noodle salad is a real celebration of the season. Packed full of spring and early summer green veggies – asparagus, snap peas, peas, and kale – and dressed with light miso vinaigrette, it’s the kind of salad that leaves you feeling satisfied but not at all heavy. The whole thing came together in about 10 minutes, and the vinaigrette doubles as an awesome marinade for fish, and also works well as a dressing for salad.

Green Soba Bowl with Miso Vinaigrette

1 large or 2 small servings

Add some edamame, baked tofu or sautéed chicken for a little more protein

 

ImageFor the salad:

2 oz. Soba Noodles

1 handful of kale

¼ c. peas

½ c. snow peas [one handful], sliced

¼ – ½ c. asparagus, chopped [about 6 stalks]

Miso Vinaigrette:

1.5 t. Miso paste

½ – 1 t. Toasted Sesame Oil

1 t. Rice Vinegar

1 t.  Fresh Ginger, finely minced

A dash of tamari or soy sauce [optional]

3 T. Water

To make the salad, cook soba noodles in boiling water for 4 minutes. When they are finished, drain, rinse with cold water, and stick in the fridge until you’re ready to assemble the salad.

Whisk together all the ingredients for the vinaigrette while the noodles are cooking. Set aside.

Bring a small amount of water to a boil, and blanch the kale. Drain and set aside.

In the same pot, heat a touch of oil over medium heat. Add the asparagus, and cook for 2-3 minutes until just starting to cook. Add the snow peas, cook for 1 minute, and then add the peas. Add the kale and 1 teaspoon of soy sauce or tamari. Allow everything to cook for another minute or two, until the vegetables are just tender and the kale is heated through.

Take the noodles out of the fridge and add vegetables. Drizzle with Miso Vinaigrette, a little fresh pepper, and a little extra soy sauce or tamari if you like. 

 

2 thoughts on “Cold Green Soba Bowl with Miso Vinaigrette

  1. Pingback: Camp Chronicles #1 | Beyond the Batter

Leave a Reply

