Kohlrabi + Carrot + Apple Slaw

Kohlrabi and I fell in love last summer when I worked at an organic meal delivery company that hosted a CSA pick up. Whenever there was kohlrabi in the share, it always ended up on the swap table. I don’t know if it’s the shape, the name, or the mysterious aura, but people were just not into experimenting with it.

I wasn’t exactly in a financial position to turn down free produce, [especially high quality, CSA produce], so their loss turned into my gain.

I guess you could call me a kohlrobber.

ImageThis not-quite-cabbage-but-pretty-close vegetable is perfect for slaws, and I was thrilled when it showed up in my CSA this week. I got into a [delicious] kohlrabi Asian slaw rut last summer [kohlrabi, carrots, broccoli slaw, ginger, rice wine, sesame seeds], but I was craving something different tonight.

I don’t why this always happens to me, but this slaw came to me in a vision. The little bites of kohlrabi really elevate this classic combination to the next level in both taste and nutritional value. Not a drop of oil in sight, and you get a great arm workout.

Crunchy, sweet, light…. Everything a slaw should be. If I hadn’t brought my whole container of pumpkin seeds to work [I don’t remember what the motive behind that was], I would have thrown a handful of them in there too.

 

Kohlrabi + Carrot + Apple Slaw

Serves 4 [unless I’m there.. in which case maybe 1.5]

3 carrots, peeled and grated

1 apple, cored and grated

½ kohlrabi, skin removed and sliced thinly

¼ c. raisins

juice of ½ a lemon

1 t. honey [add more or less depending on the sweetness of your apple]

Grate the carrots and apple. Slice the kohlrabi into thin matchsticks, and then cut into little pieces. Add a handful of raisins. Add lemon juice + drizzle with honey.

ImageCan’t argue with that.

3 thoughts on “Kohlrabi + Carrot + Apple Slaw

  1. Pingback: Sarah Kagan’s Kohlrabi, Carrot & Apple Slaw #SaladFest2013 | Healthy Cooking Camp

Leave a Reply

