Everything but the – Squash Pasta

Yesterday was one of those days where I was starving all day. No matter what I ate I COULD NOT get full, so I knew I had to bring out the big guns for dinner.

Clearly I’ve found my new favorite dish. I just made zucchini pasta for the first time a few weeks ago and now I cannot imagine my life without it.

Image

This version is a combination of Iwanttostuffmyfaceandnotfeelbadaboutit with a side of I’mgoingonvacationandneedtocookeverythinginmyfridge syndrome.

ImageI also got to use some new spices yesterday, which is a very exiting because I have no idea what is in them. My parents brought them back from the spice market in Turkey, and the labels are less than specific. I have five or six different jars of spice blends, and the only thing they say it is that they are good for meat, fish, pasta, vegetables, chicken, and/or rice.

Thanks for clearing that up.

The Chili spice was hot indeed, and exactly what I needed such a rainy day. The Ottoman spice smelled unmistakably like pizza, so I thought I’d give it a try.

The result was a spicy, flavor packed squash pasta with a little bit of everything. Topped with fresh scallions and home-grown oregano… Mama Mia Itsa [nota] Pasta!

 

 

Everything but the – Squash Pasta

Serves 1

1 squash or zucchini, shredded into thin strips

1 small onion

3 cloves garlic

4-5 mushrooms

2 c. whatever vegetables you need to use up [I had peas, green beans, carrots, and corn]

1 small handful cherry tomatoes

1 large handful spinach

2 scallions, green  parts only

1 t. oregano

1 t. garlic powder

1 t. your favorite Italian seasoning blend

red pepper flakes, to taste

S + P

Use a peeler or mandolin to cut the zucchini into thin strips. Put in a paper towel and squeeze out the excess water. Set aside.

Slice the onion and mince the garlic. Slice the mushrooms, and chop up the veggies you are going to use into whatever shape you fancy. I went for small, bite size pieces.

Heat 1-2 T. oil over medium high heat. Add the onion, and sauté until it just begins to soften, 2-3 minutes. Add the garlic, toss, and add the mushrooms. Cook until the mushrooms start to caramelize. Add your other veggies and cook for another few minutes.

When the vegetables start to soften, add the zucchini ‘pasta. Use your hands to help separate the strands, and stir them into the dish. Add your seasonings and let everything cook for another couple of minutes. Right before you’re ready to eat, add the spinach and let it wilt down.

Pour into a bowl and top with scallions and a little sprinkle of oregano.

Image

Tybee Island… Here I come!

Leave a Reply

