Camp Chronicles #1

The time has come that I shed a little light onto my life beyond the batter. Beyond the basics [brown hair, brown eyes, backpack wearing, purple-lover], I thought I would start with how I put bread on the table [if I’m not making it].

The short answer is I am a kid’s cooking teacher… technically, the Director of Wellness + Food Education’ for Butter Beans Kitchen. I spend my days writing recipes and teaching the tiniest of tots to the pickiest of tweens the in and outs of the kitchen. And you would be AMAZED at some of the things kids are willing to try [gazpacho, soba noodle bowls, smoothies, and compost cookies to name a few].

cooking_teacher

I am also a summer camp director. That’s right… not counselor, nurse, lifeguard, or arts and crafts person [although I have worn all those hats in preparation for this moment], but Camp Director.

For the last seven months, I have been organizing and planning a Food + Garden Summer Camp for kids in New York. From writing recipes and lesson plans, to organizing field trips, securing permits, hiring staff, managing budgets, and recruiting campers… I have worn every hat in [and out of] style, and tomorrow it all begins.

Over the next six weeks, I will have over ninety budding young chefs and wanna-be farmers / homesteaders / botanist experience the world of food through new eyes. Talk about pressure.

But I’m not going to try and sell you on all the reasons to chose my camp here. [Unless you are a Mom of a 6 – 12 year old or you yourself are a 6 -12 year old living in New York Cit in which case… HI! Let’s talk!].

IMG_1786I’m going to give it to you straight. We’re talking farm to table top chef for kids meets the best of nature craft DIY with a side of gardening, fishing, and chocolate making fun.

This camp is like… seriously cool.

This week alone, our campers will tour Eagle Street farms [super dope], have a private fermentation session with Mother in Law Kimchi [!], and plant their own green beans. They’ll also be cooking their own Mexican and Japanese feasts with watermelon and feta salad, Black Bean tostados with fruit guacamole, vegetable sushi, soba noodle salad, banana ice cream, and mango smoothies.

My lunchbox certainly never looked that good.

Over the next month and a half I will be updating you with stories as seen and told at camp. From the kitchen to the farm, garden, and park you can experience the life of the Butter Beans camper right from the comfort of your own home [and be totally jealous that you aren’t here with us].

If you happen to be in New York this summer, look out for an army of gold t-shirts bookmarked by ladies in purple…. you’re looking at the faces of the future of food!

Or at least some kids who ate pretty darn good along the way.

7 thoughts on “Camp Chronicles #1

  1. Pingback: Watermelon Two Ways | Beyond the Batter

  2. Pingback: Summer Vegetable Frittata | Beyond the Batter

  3. Pingback: Summer Vegetable Frittata | Sarah Sunshine

Leave a Reply

