Spicy Mango Salad

I finally went to the grocery store. Phew.

But I still can’t bring myself to cook… like… with the stove and / or oven. Maybe if I wanted to transform my apartment from the sweat lodge it already is into a sauna I would be more inclined…

Even thinking about the hot stove is making me sweat.

So temperature hot is out of the question, but spicy hot is a different story. When I was living in Thailand, I got used to eating spicy food when it was hot outside. Something about how the spicy food helps raise your core temperature so you don’t feel as big a difference with the temperature outside? Something science something something.

But back to the salad. The spicy mango dinner salad. On my new, spicy and tropical plate [and by spicy and tropical plate… I might bright and yellow!]. I’m not saying I made this salad because I thought it would look pretty on this plate, but I’m not saying I didn’t either.

The mango + pineapple paired with the coconut oil makes the whole thing taste sort of like a pina colada … but with greens. The serrano pepper adds a nice kick, and the lime + cumin dressing just ties the whole thing together. It’s bright, it’s refreshing, and it makes me want to stick my toes in the sand.

spicy mango salad

Spicy Mango Salad

Serves 1

½ c. mango, chopped

¼ c. pineapple, chopped

½ red pepper

¼ red onion, minced

1 serrano pepper, seeded and minced

1/2 c. corn [I cut fresh corn off the cobb]

2 c. kale

 Dressing:

1 lime, juiced

½ t. cumin

½ T. coconut oil

salt to taste

Make the bulk of the salad first. Combine the fruit, red pepper, hot pepper, corn, and red onion in a bowl. Squeeze half the lime juice over the mixture, season with a little salt, and put the whole thing in the fridge for 15 minutes or so to let the flavors come together.

When you are ready to eat, make a bed of kale and spoon the mixture over, making sure to add the delicious + spicy juice. Whisk together the rest of the lime juice, cumin, and coconut oil. Dress the salad, season with salt, and enjoy!

Happy 50th blog post to me 🙂

Leave a Reply

