Baked Falafel [Gluten Free + Vegan]

Talk about a labor of love. Literally.

This past Saturday I threw an engagement party for my dear friend Lauren:

IMG_2291

Remember her? She writes a pretty great blog called Strictly Nutritious, and she’s my first adult friend in the city. She also happens to be getting married to a pretty rad dude named Adam.

They are getting married in Costa Rica. It’s going to be the best week ever. But seeing as November [and Costa Rica] is pretty far away, we wanted to celebrate their nuptials New York style.

IMG_2289

As you might expect, I’m not really the type of host a party and not cook. So, despite the oppressive heat, I found myself in the kitchen three nights in a row preparing for the big event.

I’ve been hot in the kitchen before. I’ve cooked over an open fire, standing inches from the inferno, aggressively blowing into the flames and praying for rice to cook in Costa Rica. I’ve flipped steaming hot, oil soaked chapatti with my fingers trying to impress my host family in Kenya. I’ve helped chop and dice in the summer in Nepal.

And now I’ve mixed, mashed and flipped falafels on the hottest night in New York.

My mom has this recipe that says to ‘reduce the amount of salt in proportion to how much your fingers bleed’ during the grating process. I’m pretty sure I should write a disclaimer to reduce the amount of salt in proportion to how much I was sweating during this process.

The good news is that these falafels could not be easier, especially if you have a food processor. And if you have canned chickpeas, you probably have everything else on hand. Earthy, healthy, slightly spicy, and delicious.

I served mine with pita bread, homemade tzatziki, hummus, and fresh farmers market cucumbers.

IMG_2281

Made with love, to celebrate love. Now that’s my kinda meal.

 

Baked Falafel

Makes 15 silver dollar sized patties

1 can chickpeas, drained and rinsed

1 small onion, minced

4 cloves garlic

¼ c. parsley

1 T. cilantro

1 lemon, juiced

2 t. cumin

¼ t. pepper

¼ t. red pepper flakes

salt to taste

3 T. chickpea flour

1 t. baking powder

Preheat the oven to 375. Line a baking sheet with tin foil and spray lightly with cooking spray.

Combine the chickpeas through salt in a food processor and process until you have a paste. Transfer the mixture to a bowl and mash any chickpeas that may have escaped the blade.

Sprinkle the flour and baking powder into the mixture, and fold in. You will notice that the paste becomes a little fluffier

Use a spoon to make patties and line on your baking tray. Spray the top with a little more cooking spray.

Bake for 12 minutes, then flip the patties over, flatten slightly, and bake for another 12 minutes.

 

 Congratulations Lauren + Adam!

One thought on “Baked Falafel [Gluten Free + Vegan]

  1. Pingback: Cinnamon Swirl Coffee Cake | Beyond the Batter

Leave a Reply

