Apple Cinnamon Granola [Gluten-Free, Vegan]

Do you remember when you were little and your mom or dad used to test your food to ‘make sure it was safe?’

Like how my mom used her tongue to secure the ice cream to the cone, or eat the first bite of cake to make sure it wasn’t poisonous?

Interesting how my broccoli or cauliflower were never called into suspicion…

My cooking classes start up again this week, I made this granola strictly to test it for my students. It’s my maternal instincts.

Someone had to make sure that it wasn’t too sweet without being bland. That it was crunchy and not crumbly. That the nut-to-fruit-to-oat ratio was balanced.

So I put my own safety aside and forged on, testing batches of granola… fearlessly reminding myself – It’s for the children!

It was touch and go there for a while, but I made it. I can hang up my apron knowing that the budding young chefs of tomorrow are safe.

 IMG_2505

Apple Cinnamon Granola

Makes two quarts

2 c. gluten-free rolled oats

1 c. popped amaranth [from about ¼ c. dry]

2/3 c. chopped walnuts

½ c. pumpkin seeds

¼ c. whole flax seeds

¼ c. raisins

½ c. chopped dried apples

2 ½ t. cinnamon

½ t. nutmeg

¼ t. all spice

½ t. apple pie spice

1 t. salt

2/3 c. unsweetened applesauce

3 T. oil

3 T. agave

Preheat the oven to 350. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

Mix all the dry ingredients + spices together in a large bowl.

In a saucepan on the stove, combine the applesauce, oil and agave. Heat until just combine.

Pour over the granola, and spread onto the baking sheet. Don’t pack it in too much or the granola won’t be able to bake.

Bake for 40 minutes, stirring after every 10 minutes or so.

Store in an airtight container up to two weeks

 

 

 

One thought on “Apple Cinnamon Granola [Gluten-Free, Vegan]

  1. Pingback: Pumpkin Pie Granola | Beyond the Batter

Leave a Reply

