Pumpkin Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies [Vegan]

After a few batches of pumpkin pie granola, I seem to have a surplus of half full pumpkin puree cans.

At first, I tried to get inventive. I added the puree to smoothies, mixed it in with mashed sweet potatoes for dinner, and even created a pretty delicious breakfast porridge with leftover puree, almond milk, a touch of cinnamon + vanilla extra+ honey, and dried fruit / nuts.

And then it hit me. Obviously I should be making pumpkin cookies. I’m honestly embarrassed that I didn’t think of it sooner.

IMG_2621I haven’t properly baked in what seems like FOREVER, so I was really excited to bust out the mix master [metaphorically speaking… I actually used a wooden spoon] to create these fall treats.

Just thinking about the cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, all-spice combination brings images of fall foliage to mind. Throw in some pumpkin puree and it’s a no brainer.

Oh… and did I mention overflowing with chocolate chips?

Ain’t no cookie like a pumpkin oatmeal chocolate chip cookie.

 

Pumpkin Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies [Vegan]

Makes 18 – 20 cookies

1 c. whole wheat flour

¾ c. multigrain oats

½ c. packed brown sugar

¼ c. white sugar

½ t. salt

½ t. baking soda

1 t. cinnamon

¼ t. ginger

¼ t. nutmeg

¼ t. all spice

¾ c. pumpkin puree

¼ c. oil

1 t. vanilla

2/3 c. chocolate chips [I used non-dairy]

 

Preheat the oven to 350. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

In a large bowl, combine all the dry ingredients except for chocolate chips. In a separate bowl, stir together the oil, pumpkin, and vanilla. Add the wet ingredients into the dry and mix well. Stir in the chocolate chips.

Drop onto a baking sheet and bake for 12 – 15 minutes. Allow the cookies to cool completely.

 

One thought on “Pumpkin Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies [Vegan]

Leave a Reply

