Sweet Maple Granola [Gluten Free, Vegan]

Echo….

Echooooooo.

Someone once told me if you go a long time without writing a blog post you shouldn’t draw attention to it. Kind of like if you under cook something and you think everyone notices so you apologize but really no one would have noticed if you didn’t point it out.

Well… I think I passed the point of no one noticing about three weeks ago. [Or at least my blogger ego thinks so].

So here I am. Swatting at the cobwebs of cyber space, point out my absence. I could tell you that I went to Costa Rica, started a new job, traveled for Thanksgiving and a few other excuses, but we’re better than that.

At least I brought you some granola to make up for it?

IMG_2764

You might be all … “After all this time and you’re back to granola?.” I get that. Which only goes to show how fan-freaking-tastic I think this granola is if it’s breaking my silence.

I’m calling it Southern Style Sweet Maple because there is nothing that reminds me more of the south than pecans and figs. It’s like eating Tybee Island for breakfast.

So accept this grovel and granola, and rejoice because I’m back! [With a sneak peak picture from my very first photo shoot to boot! And yes, I am wearing pants.]

 

Southern Style Sweet Maple Granola [Gluten Free, Vegan]

Makes approximately 4 cups

 

2 c. gluten free oats

¼ c. dry quinoa, rinsed

¼ c. flax seeds

¼ c. sunflower seeds

¾ c. chopped pecans

½ t. salt

½ t. allspice

3 T. brown sugar, loosely packed

½ c. unsweetened applesauce

3 T. oil

2 T. high quality maple syrup

½ t. vanilla

1 c. chopped dried figs

Preheat the oven to 350 and line a baking sheet with tin foil.

Combine all the dry ingredients [oats though brown sugar] in a bowl. Trust me on the quinoa.

In a separate bowl, mix together the applesauce, oil, maple syrup, and vanilla. Pour over dry mix.

Spread onto a baking sheet and bake for 20 minutes, stirring half-way through.

Reduce the temperature to 325, add the chopped figs, and continue to cook for another 20 minutes, stirring after ten.

Turn off the oven and let the granola dry in the warm oven for another 5 – 15 minutes to reach desired crunch.

IMG_2760

I’m sorry I left you for so long! I’m back and have some exciting changes in store. Just you wait.

2 thoughts on “Sweet Maple Granola [Gluten Free, Vegan]

Leave a Reply

