Spinach + Mushroom + Feta Frittata

Is there anything more classic than a Spinach + Mushroom + Feta combination?

[Excluding peanut butter + jelly, chocolate + mint, salt + pepper, and avocado with anything.]

I think in some circles they might even call this a Greek Omelette. Am I right?

In full disclosure, I’m not really an egg person. Never have been. Ask anyone who knows me, and they can tell you that I have had fruit + granola for breakfast every day for the last oohh… seven years or so? So eggs and I are in the beginning stages of our relationship.

At least we’re both morning people?

Anyway, as I mentioned a few days ago I did a photo shoot for a new project [!] and I decided to use my friend’s kitchen because it gets better light. When you’re strapped for cash but rich in culinary talent [yeah, I said it.], I told her I would compensate her with food.

She needed egg shells for a project… I needed eggs for a frittata… yaddayaddayadda. A dish was born!

IMG_2763

I actually made mini frittatas with my campers this summer. It’s amazing how one recipe can feed a group of 20 six years old lunch for a day and a busy working girl breakfast for a week.

Six year old’s and 25 year old’s… we’re not so different after all!

 

Spinach + Mushroom + Feta Frittatas

makes 12 mini frittatas

8 eggs

1 c. milk

1 T. oil

1/2 small onion, diced

2 cloves garlic, minced

6 oz. spinach [one large bag]

8 mushrooms, thinly sliced

1/2 c. feta cheese

1 T. minced chives [I use a scissors to cut them]

1/2 t. salt

1/4 t. pepper [to taste… I added more than this ’cause I like things peppery]

Preheat the oven to 375. Lightly grease a muffin tin.

Whisk together the eggs and milk. Season with salt and pepper and set aside.

Heat 1 T oil in a skillet, and saute the diced onion and garlic. Add the mushrooms, and cook for 3-4 minutes until they start to brown. Add the spinach and cook until the spinach wilts down [about a minute]. Remove the pan from the heat and allow to cook for a few minutes.

Using the back of a spoon, press as much of the liquid as possible out of the spinach + mushroom mixture. [This will help ensure your frittatats don’t become soggy. Ew]. Portion into the muffin tins.

Pour the egg mixture over the vegetables until each tin until it is about 2/3 full. Sprinkle some feta cheese and a few chives on top.

Bake for 15 minutes, until golden brown. Enjoy warm, or wrap and freeze for a powerhouse breakfast all week!

IMG_2762

Two may or may not have been consumed before I had time to snap a picture. Gotta pay the people!

Leave a Reply

