Miso – Vegetable Egg Drop Soup

I’m not a big delivery person. I actually really like running errands. My favorite stores are Duane Reade, Trader Joes, Target, Costco, and the Dollar Store. [Not necessarily in that order].

And with dinner it’s like if I’m going to go out to eat I want to actually go out … you know?

So go figure that last night, the most frigid night of the winter thus far, I wanted to order in. My cooking supplies were low, my hunger levels high, and my laziness paramount.

But I couldn’t bring myself to order. I didn’t want someone else to suffer through the winds and arctic air just because I was feeling lazy. My heart is too big.

…that, and my food would probably be cold by the time it got to me.

So, I recreated my would-be order at home.I had everything I needed already on hand, there was basically no clean up, and my soup was piping hot!

090

It was a Take-Out Take-Over!

Miso – Vegetable Egg Drop Soup

Serves one, but can easily be doubled or tripled

1/4 small onion, sliced

4 mushrooms, sliced

2 sheets seaweed, optional [I used nori papers]

1.5 c. water

2 T. miso paste

1 egg [for a thicker, hardier soup go for 2 eggs]

dash of sesame oil

dash of tamari

In a kettle or a pot, boil ¼ c. of water. Mix together the miso paste and the boiling water, until the miso is dissolved. Set aside.

In a small saucepan, sauté the onions and the mushrooms until they just start the brown. Add the remaining 1 ¼ c. water, and once it boils add the remaining miso + water mixture.

Make sure the soup is boiling. Crack an egg directly into the pot, and use a fork to scramble the egg as cooks in the boiling water. [If you’re nervous about this, you can always crack and whisk the egg in a separate bowl before you add it].

Crumble the nori into the soup, add a dash of sesame oil and tamari, to taste.

The only thing missing was the fortune cookie.

2 thoughts on “Miso – Vegetable Egg Drop Soup

  1. Pingback: Thai Tofu + Vegetable Coconut Curry [Vegan, Gluten Free] | Beyond the Batter

  2. Pingback: Thai Tofu + Vegetable Coconut Curry [Vegan, Gluten Free] | Sarah Sunshine

Leave a Reply

