Almond Crusted Tofu with Chimichurri

It’s the end of an era.

As of January 31, I am not longer a resident of New York City [or in my case Brooklyn].

I’m trading in the Big Apple for the Big Avocado, and I thought what better way to honor my time in New York than by honoring the place I spent the most time while in New York – my kitchen.

From the kosher Kagan household to jungles of Costa Rica to kids classrooms across New York City, I’ve had my spatula in a lot of kitchens. But my little Crown Heights kitchen will forever hold a special place in my heart.

It was the first kitchen that was really all my own. [well… and my roommates. But we had an unspoken agreement about that one].  It was the birthplace of this blog, the test center for my cooking classes, and the heart of my home for the last year and a half.

So I called some friends. Popped some champagne, and prepared a meal to send myself off right.

IMG_2925

Starters:

Massaged Kale Salad with Sunflower Seeds and Lemon Vinaigrette

Mains + Sides:

Almond Crusted Tofu with Chimichurri Sauce

Maple Roasted Carrots

Balsamic Glazed Brussels sprouts

Simple Farro salad with Pomegranate and Mint

Dessert:

Double Chocolate Hazelnut Biscotti

New York, it’s been real. You’re fast and furious, progressive and aggressive, open and honest, wild and full of wonder.

And now, for the love of food and farming, I am taking some time to reconnect with my [literal] roots.

I am putting down the spatula and picking up a shovel, trading in spices for seeds, and swapping my oven mitts for garden gloves.

It’s about to get farm to table in a REAL way up in here, and I can’t wait.

Almond Crusted Tofu

Serves 4

1 5 oz. package extra firm tofu, sliced into ½ inch thick pieces

1/4 c. whole raw almonds

1/2 c. almond meal [alternatively, double the amount of whole almonds and process into almond meal]

1/2 t. salt

2 T oil, for frying

Slice the tofu into ½ slices, set aside.

Add the whole almonds to a food processor and process until you have small pieces. Not quite meal, but very small pieces. [Alternatively, you could double the amount of whole almonds and process everything into a fine meal.]

Add the ground almonds, almond meal, and salt to a shallow dish. Coat both sides of the tofu slices with the almond mixture.

Heat 1 tablespoon of oil over medium high heat in a skillet and add the tofu in batches. Fry for about 3 minutes, until the almonds start to brown. Flip, and fry for another 3 minutes.

Serve warm with chimichurri on the side.

Chimichurri

Makes approximately 1 cup

2 big handfuls parsley [1/2 – 3/4 c]

1 handful cilantro [1/4 – 1/2 c]

1/4 red onion

3 cloves garlic

1 T. honey [use agave nectar for a vegan version]

1/4 c olive oil

2 T. red wine vinegar

1/2 t. kosher salt

Add all the ingredients to a blender or food processor and process until smooth. Adjust the seasoning [adding more honey, salt, or vinegar] as needed.

Good on pretty much everything.

IMG_2926

Keep in Touch, Concrete Jungle.

Leave a Reply

